THE CHALLENGE

„The FAST One“ will challenge the existing world record in global circumnavigation, under the  rules of the UIM. This world record attempt will also be accomplished with attention to environmental aspects.

Our mission requires a perfectly orchestrated coordination of all parts relevant for our success: a highly professional, trained crew, the best available preparation, the optimal boat with the highest possible standard, the highest degree of reliability and excellent logistics.

Another key factor is the efficiency and performance of our platform:

„The Fast One“ is a hybrid catamaran featuring fixed foils, thus combining the advantages of a bare planning hull with those of a pure hydrofoil concept. Combined with a functional, aerodynamically sophisticated design an extremely powerful overall package will be created. This will allow for a performance improvement of approx. 40% or more and enable us to cruise at a speed of 40 kn and more, even under adverse sea conditions.

The anticipated high cruising speed in almost all weather and visibility conditions require the use of very advanced on-board electronic and optic equipment. A long-range scan and the observation of the sea surface on the course track has to be ensured in order to avoid collision with semisubmerged obstacles and objects. The most advanced equipment for that purpose has been secured for our mission.

During the circumnavigation „The Fast One“ will be monitored and supported by our logistics, communications and PR team.

The German SAR organisation DGzRS is coordinating all global rescue missions in their Maritime Rescue Coordination Centre / MRCC Bremen and we have been offered to use their facility for our tracking purposes. A special communications- and monitoring facility to be used for our sponsors and partner is being planned as well.

We strongly believe in the hydrofoil technology and with “The Fast One” we will build the world’s safest, fastest and most efficient powerboat!

RULES FOR THE WORLD RECORD

We will conduct the race in accordance to the rules set by the Union Internationale Motonautique (UIM). The UIM was founded in 1992 and is based in Monaco. Today the UIM is home to 60 national organisations and is the only official body worldwide responsible for all motorized water sports competitions.

The UIM is recognized by the International Olympic Committee (IOC).

It also sets the framework conditions and rules for the planned world record rounding with a motorized fast watercraft:

  • Starting point freely selectable
  • Time and date freely selectable
  • Start and end point identical
  • Circumnavigation in the direction of East-West or West-East (about 23,000 miles / 42,000 km)
  • All longitudes are to be crossed
  • Panama and Suez Canal are to pass
  • Refueling is only allowed in ports
  • Time measurement takes place from start to finish including all refueling , replenishment
  • and maintenance times
  • Boat length less than 50 m
  • Boat complies to the safety standards of international classification societies

THE ROUTE

Decisions on the preferred route have to comply with the framework defined by the governing Union Internationale Motonautique (UIM):

  • Starting point freely selectable
  • Start and end point identical
  • Circumnavigation in the direction of East-West or West-East (about 23,000 nautical miles / 42,000 km)
  • All longitudes are to be crossed
  • Panama and Suez Canal are to pass

Due to the anticipated weather and current conditions on the oceans, we will adapt our route planning to our time window. This could be one scenario:

The Team

Core-Team

Joachim Pihl

Project Coordination
Competition Team

Frank Hartmann

Marketing
Public Relations

Hans Gerd Gerdsen

Engineering
Construction

Hendrik Weber

Design
Aerodynamics

Ralph Ellenberger

Competition Team
Logistics

Andreas Brensing

Competition Team
Safety

Karl-Günter Hoppe

Hydro Foil System
Propulsion

Carsten Saber

Competition Team
Logistics

Anja Kastner

Training
Competition Psychology

The History

USS Triton

1959 – 83 Days : 9 Hours : 54 Minutes

In 1959, the US Navy put the nuclear submarine ``USS Triton`` into service. In direct competition with Soviet submarine technology, the USS Triton was to document its extraordinary performance through a global circumnavigation run. The main objective of the project was to cover the distance without surfacing. This project failed only due to a medical emergency on board, there was never a purely technical need for the submarine to surface. The ``USS Triton`` covered the track in 83 days: 9 hours: 54 minutes. Back then, this was a great achievement and received a great deal of public attention. A top speed of about 27 knots underwater was the new benchmark in the western world. - Image: Wikipedia

Cable and Wireless Adventurer

1098 – 74 Days: 20 Hours : 58 Minutes

The ``Cable and Wireless Adventurer``, designed by Nigel Irens, was an aesthetic masterpiece. Due to the very long and exceptionally slim fuselage construction, the ``Cable and Wireless Adventurer`` was perfectly geared for long distances from a hydrodynamic point of view. Under these conditions, the skipper Ian Bosworth was able to break the world record previously set by the USS Triton and finish his tour after 74 days: 20 hours: 58. - Image: Nigel Irens Design

Earthrace

2008 – 60 Days : 23 Hours : 49 Minutes

To improve the cable and wireless adventurer's world record, the LOMOcean Design team had to break new ground. In fact, the Earthrace was sort of a clever combination of the submarine ``USS Triton`` and the trimaran ``Cable and Wireless Adventurer``. Due to its aerodynamics and hydrodynamics, the ``Earthrace`` was designed to take the direct route between two points! This meant that the ``Earthrace``, very much like a torpedo, cut through the waves with high energy, putting the ship’s structure under enormous stress. And stressful it was for the crew as well. But this concept enabled the skipper Pete Bethune on 27.06.2008 to set a new benchmark with 60 days: 23 hours: 49 minutes. Image: Earthrace Conversation

SEARCH AND RESCUE

For ages, man has been fighting the forces of nature. We pay tribute to all the women and men who have made it their mission to save people from distress at sea.

Through the use of modern life-saving equipment in the industrialized nations this fight against the forces of nature can be decided to a certain extent in favor of man.

Unfortunately, there is no reliable nationwide rescue network available in developing countries. Where individuals are still dependent on the sea as a source of food, the most tragic accidents occur outside the public’s focus.

Global warming, in the form of more frequent storms, will exacerbate the situation on these shores.

Together with our supporter DGzRS “Deutsche Gesellschaft zur Rettung Schiffbrüchiger” and partner rescue services of other nations, we want to place our world record attempt in the focus of rescue missions at the high seas.

Upon completion of our challenge we plan to convert our ship to the most modern and fastest SAR unit in the world. We intend to make our record breaking ship available to the SAR service as a high-tech platform and to further support the rescue service. Therefore our ship should always be where the help is most needed.

Did you know that drowning is the number three cause of death worldwide?

Support our mission now!

JOIN THE CHALLENGE

The successful challenge of the world record in global circumnavigation will be based on state-of-the-art technology, perfect logistics and top team performance – but it will only become possible through our sponsors and their support with material and financial resources. We offer our sponsors an absolutely unique platform for their brand communication. The global circumnavigation event as well as the training phase hold a great potential for dynamic brands. Get in touch – we have developed a multi-level sponsorship program! Welcome on board!

Contact

You would like to become a partner / sponsor or you have questions / suggestions regarding the media and public relations, please contact us: f.hartmann [at] the-fast-one.com

If you would like information on project planning or would like to contact our competition team, please contact us: j.pihl [at] the-fast-one.com

Die Herausforderung

Mit dem Projekt „The FAST One“ will unser Team den Weltrekord für die schnellste Weltumrundung nach offiziellem Reglement erzielen. Dieser Weltrekord soll auch unter Umweltaspekten bewerkstelligt werden.

Unser Vorhaben bedingt ein perfekt abgestimmtes Zusammenspiel der einzelnen Erfolgsfaktoren: Eine hochprofessionelle belastbare Crew, bestmögliche Vorbereitung, das optimale Boot mit höchstmöglichem Standard, höchstem Zuverlässigkeitsgrad und eine exzellente Logistik.

Ein wesentlicher Faktor ist die Effizienz und Leistung unserer Plattform:

„The Fast One“ ist ein tragflügelgestützter Gleitkatamaran, der die Vorteile eines Gleitbootes mit dem eines reinen Tragflügelbootes kombiniert. Zusammen mit einem funktionalen, aerodynamisch ausgefeilten Design entsteht ein ungewöhnlich leistungsstarkes Gesamtpaket. Wir können damit nachweislich eine Leistungsverbesserung von ca. 40% und mehr erreichen und Dauergeschwindigkeiten von über 40 kn auch unter rauhen Seegangsbedingungen sicherstellen.

Die hohen Geschwindigkeiten des Bootes bei fast allen Wetterlagen und Sichtverhältnissen erfordern die Verwendung einer sehr weit entwickelten Bordelektronik. Eine elektronische Aufklärung des Seeraums muss wesentlich weiter im Voraus sichergestellt werden, als das üblicherweise der Fall ist. Hierzu zählt insbesondere auch die zuverlässige Detektion von schwimmenden Gegenständen und Hindernissen im Kursverlauf des Bootes. Das dafür nötige innovative Equipment ist auf dem Markt erst jetzt verfügbar und wird für uns herstellerseitig bereitgestellt.

„The Fast One“ wird während der Circumnavigation begleitet und unterstützt von unserem Team für Logistik, Kommunikation und Public Relations. Da die DGzRS weltweit alle Seenotfälle von ihrer Seenotleitstelle Maritime Rescue Coordination Centre / MRCC Bremen aus koordiniert bietet sich diese auch als Kommunikations- und Begleitzentrum für unsere Mission an: „The Fast One“ wird in ständigem Kontakt mit unserem Unterstützungsteam stehen.

Ein spezielles Überwachungs- und Kommunikationszentrum ist mit den Sponsoren und Partnern geplant.

Wir glauben an die Tragflügeltechnologie und werden auf dieser Basis mit „The Fast One“ das sicherste, schnellste und effizienteste Wasserfahrzeug der Welt bauen!

Die Regeln für den Weltrekord

Wir fahren entsprechend dem Reglement der Union Internationale Motonautique (UIM). Sie wurde 1992 gegründet und hat ihren Sitz in Monaco. In der UIM haben sich 60 Ländergesellschaften zusammengeschlossen und sie ist weltweit als einzige offizielle Instanz zuständig für alle motorisierten Wassersportwettbewerbe.

Die UIM ist vom International Olympic Committee (IOC) anerkannt.

Für die von uns geplante Weltrekordumrundung mit einem motorgetriebenen Wasserfahrzeug gibt sie diese Rahmenbedingungen vor:

  • Startpunkt frei wählbar
  • Start- und Zielpunkt identisch
  • Umrundung in Richtung Ost–West oder West–Ost (ca. 23.000 sm/42.000 km)
  • Alle Längengrade sind zu queren
  • Panama- und Suezkanal sind zu passieren
  • Betankung darf nur in Häfen erfolgen
  • Zeitmessung erfolgt von Start bis Ziel inklusive aller Tank- und Liegezeiten
  • Bootslänge unter 50 m
  • Boot entspricht den Sicherheitsstandards internationaler Klassifikationsgesellschaften

Die Route

Die Streckenplanung erfolgt auf Basis der von der regelgebenden Union Internationale Motonautique (UIM) festgelegten Rahmenbedingungen:

  • Startpunkt frei wählbar
  • Start- und Zielpunkt identisch
  • Umrundung in Richtung Ost–West oder West–Ost (ca. 23.000 sm / 42.000 km)
  • Alle Längengrade sind zu queren
  • Panama- und Suezkanal sind zu passieren

Aufgrund der antizipierten Wetter- und Strömungsbedingungen auf den Weltmeeren werden wir unsere Streckenplanung an unser Zeitfenster anpassen. Sie wird in etwa wie folgt verlaufen:

Das Team

Core-Team

Joachim Pihl

Projektkoordination
Wettkampfteam

Frank Hartmann

Marketing
Public Relations

Hans Gerd Gerdsen

Technik
Konstruktion

Hendrik Weber

Design
Aerodynamik

Ralph Ellenberger

Wettkampfteam
Logistik

Andreas Brensing

Wettkampfteam
Sicherheit

Karl-Günter Hoppe

Tragflügelsystem
propulsion

Carsten Saber

Wettkampfteam
Logistik

Anja Kastner

Training
Wettkampfpsychologie

Die Historie

USS Triton

1959 – 83 Tagen : 9 Stunden : 54 Minuten

Im Jahre 1959 stellte die US Navy das Atom-U-Boot „USS Triton“ in Dienst. In direkter Konkurrenz zur sowjetischen U-Boottechnik sollte die USS Triton ihre überordentliche Leistungsfähigkeit durch eine globale Weltumrundung dokumentieren. Kernziel des Vorhabens war es hierbei die Strecke ohne ein Auftauchen des Schiffes zurückzulegen. Dieses Vorhaben scheiterte lediglich auf Grund eines medizinischen Notfalls an Bord. Eine technische Notwendigkeit für ein Auftauchen des U-Bootes bestand nicht. Die „USS Triton“ legte die Strecke in 83 Tagen : 9 Stunden : 54 Minuten zurück. Dieser Weltrekord war in dieser Zeit eine große Leistung die in der öffentlichen Wahrnehmung eine große Beachtung fand. Eine Spitzengeschwindigkeit von ca. 27 Knoten Unterwasser galt hierbei in der westlichen Welt als Benchmark. – Image: Wikipedia

Cable and Wireless Adventurer

1098 – 74 Tagen: 20 Stunden : 58 Minuten

Mit dem Trimaran “Cable and Wireless Adventurer” gelang dem Disigner Nigel Irens ein ästhetisches Meisterwerk. Durch die sehr lange und außerordentlich schlanke Rumpfkonstruktion war die „Cable and Wireless Adventurer“ aus hydrodynamischer Sicht optimal für lange Strecken ausgelegt. Unter diesen Voraussetzungen war es dem Skipper Ian Bosworth im Juli 1998 möglich den Weltrekord der USS Triton auf 74 Tagen: 20 Stunden : 58 zu verbessern. – Image: Nigel Irens Design

Earthrace

2008 – 60 Tage : 23 Stunden : 49 Minuten

Um den Weltrekord der Cable and Wireless Adventurer zu verbessern musste das Team von LOMOcean Design neue Wege gehen. Genaugenommen war die Earthrace die Schnittmenge aus dem U-Boot „USS Triton” und des Trimaran “Cable and Wireless Adventurer”. Die „Earthrace“ war aufgrund ihrer Aero- und Hydrodynamik darauf ausgelegt immer den direkten Weg zwischen zwei Punkten zu nehmen! Das bedeutete, dass die „Earthrace“ nach dem Vorbild eines Torpedos die Wellenkämme mit einer hohen Energie direkt durchkreuzte. Hierbei traten extrem hohe Wassersäulen über dem Schiff auf. Die Belastung für die Crew war Grund dieser Tatsache ebenfalls sehr hoch. Auf diesem Wege war es dem Skipper „Pete Bethune“ am 27.06.2008 möglich, mit 60 Tage : 23 Stunden : 49 Minuten einen neuen Benchmark zu setzen. Image: Earthrace Conversation

Die Seenotrettung

Schon seit ewigen Zeiten befindet sich der Mensch im Kampf gegen die Naturgewalten. Unsere Anerkennung gilt all den Frauen und Männern, die es sich zur Lebensaufgabe gemacht haben Menschen aus Seenot zu retten.

Dieser Kampf kann in den Industrienationen durch den Einsatz von modernen Rettungsmitteln ein Stück weit zu Gunsten des Menschen entschieden werden.

In den Entwicklungsländern steht leider kein belastbares flächendeckendes Rettungsnetz zur Verfügung. Dort wo die Menschen noch abhängig vom Meer als Nahrungsquelle sind, passieren außerhalb des Fokus der Öffentlichkeit die tragischsten Unfälle.

Die globale Erderwärmung wird in Form von häufiger auftretenden Stürmen die Situation an diesen Küstenabschnitten noch verschärfen.

Zusammen mit unserem Partner der „Deutschen Gesellschaft zur Rettung Schiffbrüchiger“ und den Freunden der benachbarten Seenotrettungsdienste wollen wir unseren Weltrekordversuch in den Fokus der Seenotrettung stellen.

Wir werden unser Schiff nach Abschluss unserer Mission zur modernsten und schnellsten Rettungseinheit der Welt umrüsten. Unser Schiff soll dem Rettungsdienst als Technologieträger und zur weiteren Unterstützung des Rettungsdienstes zur Verfügung stehen. Unser Schiff soll immer da sein, wo die Hilfe am notwendigsten ist.

Wussten Sie eigentlich, dass weltweit das Ertrinken zur drittgrößten Todesursache zählt?

Lassen Sie uns jetzt helfen!

Partner werden

Unsere geplante schnellste Weltumrundung ist die Summe aus Hochtechnologie, perfekter Logistik und menschlicher Spitzenleistung im Team – möglich wird sie aber erst durch Sponsoren und deren Unterstützung mit Sach- und Geldmitteln. Wir bieten Sponsoren eine absolut einzigartige Plattform für ihre Markenkommunikation. Das Ereignis der Weltumrundung und seine professionelle Vorbereitung bieten enorme Strahlkraft für dynamische Marken. Wir haben ein mehrstufiges Sponsorenprogramm ausgearbeitet – sprechen Sie uns an!

Kontakt

Sie möchten Partner / Sponsor werden oder Sie haben Fragen / Anregungen zur Medien- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit, so schreiben Sie uns gern an: f.hartmann [at] the-fast-one.com

Sie möchten Informationen zu Projektplanung oder möchten unser Wettkampfteam kontaktieren, dann schreiben Sie uns gern an: j.pihl [at] the-fast-one.com